Ferguslie CC Under 13s

WDJCU Secretary Ann Hargie writes, “The WDJCU congratulate Ferguslie Under 13s for a tremendous effort in the Scottish Cup, making it all the way to Finals Day and finishing runners-up based on wickets lost – a fantastic showcase for west junior cricket!”

“Kwik Cricket”, Sunday 29 July 2018

Sunday’s scheduled Under 10 “Kwik Cricket” festival at Ferguslie CC’s Meikleriggs ground will now not take place, the ground being already utilised for an inter-regional women’s T20 tournament.

Under 11 League fixtures

WDJCU Secretary Ann Hargie has published the Under 11 League fixtures for the remainder of the season.  These are:

20 July 2018

Clydesdale CC versus Drumpellier CC
Glasgow Accies CC versus Irvine CC
Greenock CC versus East Kilbride|Weirs

27 July 2018

Irvine CC versus Greenock CC
Glasgow Accies CC versus Clydesdale CC
Drumpellier CC versus East Kilbride|Weirs

3 August 2018

Irvine CC versus Clydesdale CC
East Kilbride|Weirs CC versus Glasgow Accies CC
Greenock CC versus Drumpellier CC

10 August 2018

Clydesdale CC versus Greenock CC
East Kilbride|Weirs versus Irvine CC
Glasgow Accies CC versus Drumpellier CC

17 August 2018

Clydesdale CC versus East Kilbride|Weirs
Greenock CC versus Glasgow Accies CC
Drumpellier CC versus Irvine CC


20 July 2018

East Renfrewshire CC versus Hillhead|Renfrew
Ferguslie|Kelburne versus Victoria CC
Bye week: Uddingston CC

27 July 2018

Victoria CC versus Uddingston CC
Ferguslie|Kelburne versus East Renfrewshire CC
Bye week: Hillhead|Renfrew

3 August 2018

Victoria CC versus East Renfrewshire CC
Uddingston CC versus Hillhead|Renfrew
Bye week: Ferguslie|Kelburne

10 August 2018

East Renfrewshire CC versus Uddingston CC
Ferguslie|Kelburne versus Hillhead|Renfrew
Bye week: Victoria CC

17 August 2018

Uddingston CC versus Ferguslie|Kelburne
Hillhead|Renfrew versus Victoria CC
Bye week: East Renfrewshire CC


Match returns

WDJCU Secretary Ann Hargie writes, “Can all clubs please ensure that match scores are submitted as soon as possible after games please to allow for fixture scheduling.  Any queries with score issues please contact me for assistance.”

Toilet facilities at junior matches

WDJCU Secretary Ann Hargie wants to remind clubs that toilet facilities must be available, for players, coaches and managers, and supporters and parents, for the duration of junior matches at all home grounds.

Eid al-Fitr

WDJCU Secretary Ann Hargie writes, “With Eid al-Fitr likely being on Friday this week, the 15th of June, all junior matches have been postponed by the WDJCU Committee, in all junior age groups, other than where both teams scheduled to play each other on that date wish to play their fixture, in which case it may still go ahead.”

New season Chairman’s message

On the eve of a new junior league season, WDJCU Chairman Parvase Majeed writes “We have arrived again at the crest of a new season. The weather may not be conducive but we are hardened souls in the west of Scotland and made to suffer and endure whatever the weather throws at us.  This season’s junior cricket is going to be interesting, challenging and I hope really enjoyable for all participants. We have new formats for the kids from the work undertaken by Cricket Scotland and its research based on Australian junior cricket. Age groups of Under 11, Under 14 and Under 16 will in future if the experience over the season is a positive one will become known as J1, J2 and J3. We have retained the Under 12 age group to allow the kids to experience the hardball before Under 14.

“I would like to give a big thanks to Ann Hargie the junior union’s new Secretary and Tim Hart of Cricket Scotland for the work put in preparing the fixtures after long deliberations on the formats were completed by the junior committee. Also a big thank you to Keith Young for his advice, support and ongoing work on the website even after relinquishing the Secretary’s role.

“It was very pleasing to see so many of you at the workshop last week and those of you who were not able to attend please ensure you read up on the formats or hope the opposition coach is conversant of the new ‘rules’. Otherwise…..

“Tomorrow is the start of the junior season Under 11 and Under 14 matches will commence. Weather permitting.

“To all Junior Convenors and team coaches: embrace the changes :: enjoy the new experience :: let the kids play!”

Under 10 Kwik Cricket festivals

WDJCU Secretary Ann Hargie has intimated that the Under 10 Kwik Cricket festivals for the 2018 season are to be individual club-based. Can all clubs wishing to participate in this age group, and host a Sunday morning festival please email Ann with their preferred date and, if available, this will be confirmed by return, by Ann, and added to a schedule on the website, here.