Clydesdale CC win WDJCU Under 15 Super 8s, 2019

Clydesdale CC have won the WDJCU Under 15 Super 8s, 2019.

The group stages, on Saturday the 28th of December, saw Clydesdale CC win Group A and Glasgow Accies CC win Group B – with Ferguslie CC having the best net run rate (with an unusual statistical oddity being that it was 0.00!) of the runners-up and also progressing to the Final Group.  During the Group Stage there were significant contributions to their team’s effort from: Clydesdale CC’s Sonny Cunningham (26* retired), Bahadar Esakhiel (25* retired), Ibrahim Faisal (25* retired), Robin Ferguson (25* retired – twice), Owen Gould (32), Andrew Harden (30*, retired), Nikhil Koteeswaran (27*, 2 for 6 and 26* retired) and Shahan Raja (2 for 3), Clydesdale CC team II’s Maryam Faisal (28) and Ben Willmott (25* retired), East Renfrewshire CC’s Ahmad Gondal (24*) and Zayd Bin Tariq (2 for 6), Ferguslie CC’s Uzair Ahmad (25* retired & 26* retired) and Craig Glassford (26* retired & 25* retired), Glasgow Accies CC’s Ritvik Maheshwari (26* retired), Rory Paterson (25* retired) and Zain Shaikh (27* retired & 25* retired) and Kilmarnock CC’s Ruari Mavin (29*).  Added to all that, Under 12 Glasgow Accies CC player Shaan Suvarna also bowled a wicket maiden!

The final group took place in the afternoon on Monday the 30th of December.  Clydesdale CC batted first versus Glasgow Accies CC and posted a big total of 136 for 4 – Esakhiel, Gould and Harden all retired (26*, 25* and 25* respectively), with Nasratullah Safi taking 2 for 23 for Accies.  In reply, Clydesdale’s spinners Cunningham and Raja (2 for 11 and 2 for 10) ensured their team completed the win.  With their group stage match having been decided by the final delivery, it was maybe not a huge surprise when the same thing happened again when Ferguslie CC played Accies.  This is time the result was a dramatic tie: 83 for 4 playing 83 all out!  For Ferguslie Ahmad (25* retired) and Qasim Khan (2 for 15) made significant contributions to the drama – as did Safi (30) and Paterson (21) for Accies.  In the final match, Ahmad retired again (for 28) and Greg Shaw (19) built a good second wicket partnership for Ferguslie.  However, the Clydesdale spinners again had a huge role to play – their five overs conceding just 27 runs.  Ferguslie 70 for 4.  In reply, a “skipper’s knock” of 25 retired saw Clydesdale home – their five-wicket win coming with almost three overs to spare.

Congratulations to Clydesdale on their victory – and to Nikhil Koteeswaran (Clydesdale CC) who won another very tight contest for “Player of the Tournament”, just beating his teammates Sonny Cunningham, Bahadar Esakhiel, Robin Ferguson, Andrew Harden and Shahan Raja, Ferguslie CC duo Uzair Ahmad & Qasim Khan and Glasgow Accies CC duo Nasratullah Safi and Zain Shaikh.