Clydesdale win Under 13 League Cup, 2016

Tonight saw the playing of the held-over 2016 final of the Under 13 League Cup.  Tim Hart reports.

“Clydesdale won the toss and elected to bat first in the 2016 Under 13 League Cup final, at Titwood in Glasgow. Openers Humza Zulfiqar and Nikhil Koteeswaran built a good base for the innings – although both found it a little challenging to rotate the strike consistently against the early Ayr spin attack of Calum McCormick and Jonny Faulkner. Zulfiqar reached his 30 and retired in the tenth over and by the end of the thirteenth over the score was 68 for 0. Zakki Tariq then took the attack to the Ayr bowlers and, after Koteeswaran was run out for a very useful 29, skipper David Sturgess produced exactly the sort of ‘cameo’ innings his side really needed. Tariq was very well caught by a diving Nari Bhandari, off the bowling of Ryan Parry, for 24 – but Sturgess saw the innings through, finishing 27* (off just eleven deliveries, including hitting the only 6 of the match). Clydesdale 120 for 3 off their eighteen overs, despite McCormick’s good spell of 4-0-17-1.


“In reply, Ayr needed to get off to a good start. However, Faizan Rauf and Tariq didn’t allow the batters to settle and, with Rauf picking up two early wickets, Ayr were 14 for 2 off five overs. The eight bowlers used all offered good control – and only Bhandari (14) looked comfortable in rotating the strike on a regular basis. For Clydesdale, Saifullah Ahmadzai (two) and Sanand Coburn, Shahan Raja and Harjot Singh (all one each) were the other wicket takers. Ayr 53 for 7 off their eighteen overs. Clydesdale winners by 67 runs and 2016 Under 13 League Cup winners.”