Frank Smith Trophy

In this evening’s first two Frank Smith Trophy ties there were wins for Greenock CC over Poloc CC, the Glenpark club winning by seven wickets in Greenock.  Batting first Poloc CC posted 142 for 9 with Hassaan Mehmood (43) and Hasan Malik (35) top-scoring.  The home side’s successful run-chase – completed with two overs to spare – was built around opener Tom Forrest’s 64 (38), an innings that included eight 4s and three 6s.  Clydesdale CC were the other winners on the night, and, like Greenock CC, progress to the semi-finals.  The Titwood youngsters saw off the challenge of Renfrew CC, winning by nine wickets.  Rafay Khan (25) scored almost half of his side’s runs as Renfrew CC mustered 56 for 8 batting first, before David Sturgess (29*) successfully steered Clydesdale CC across the finish line inside seven overs.

Updated draw.